37 Followers
14 Following
MuseAndRamble

Musings and Ramblings

Of a self professed bookworm and geek girl.

@TastyBookTours Interview: All I Need Is You by Wendy S. Marcus

 


All I Need Is You

 


Loving You, #2

 

Wendy S Marcus

 


Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Loveswept
Date of Publication: October 6, 2015
Number of pages: 249


 

 

Available at the following retailers:
Amazon     BN     Kobo     ARe

 

Perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Robyn Carr, this sexy yet sweet military romance reunites a headstrong dancer and a rugged army soldier after one steamy encounter tears them apart.

As a dancer who creates mesmerizing visions onstage, Neve James is looking for the same kind of stability in her love life. Her pen pal, Rory McRoy, is on leave from deployment in Afghanistan, so she heads to Boston to surprise him. After corresponding for months as part of a “Support Our Troops” initiative—and exchanging dozens of “Read When You’re Alone” letters—Neve knows what Rory likes, and she intends to fulfill his every fantasy. But all they get are a few blissful moments together before they’re interrupted by a woman claiming to be Rory’s fiancée.

Rory has fallen hard for Neve’s letters. When he finally meets her in person, he has to have her, right then and there—until Neve takes off in a fit of anger. Forced to return to Afghanistan before he can fix things between them, Rory waits four agonizing months to prove that he’s not the man Neve thinks he is. But by the time he arrives in New York, she’s already made up her mind. Luckily, Rory never backs down from a challenge, and he’s prepared to put everything on the line for love.

Excerpt: 

November 26, 2011

Dear Neve,

First off, please call me Rory. (Rhymes with “story.” Sorry, couldn’t resist.) Or Mic. We’re big on nicknames over here and that’s mine.

Thank you for your letter. I got it yesterday, which was the day after Thanksgiving. They try to do it up big here, to make the day special, but it’s not the same as being at home. And I was in a funk, thinking about my family and friends, all together at our pub, everyone there but me, stuffing themselves on Mom’s delicious turkey, Aunt Jackie’s honeyed ham, cousin Barbara’s mashed potatoes, and our neighbor Abigail’s macaroni and cheese, which is the best I’ve ever tasted. Damn it, now I’ve got my mouth watering again.

Anyhow, your letter came at the right time to cheer me up and give me something else to think about. Like the picture you sent. Hot damn. That had to be the finest female butt I’ve ever seen in a skimpy purple bikini bottom... or any bikini bottom, for that matter. In fact it’s so perfect the guys are convinced you’re trying to catfish me—you know, sub someone else’s pic for your own. How about we prove them wrong? Send me another picture, a full body shot this time. In that same bikini would be my preference.

To answer your question, I don’t know anyone who would call me amoral. But a dog? There, uh, may be one or two girls from my past who think so. But I’m a guy, and any guy who tells you he’s never in his life exhibited some doggish behavior is a liar. One thing I am not is a liar. That said, when I’m in a relationship, I don’t cheat. Lucky for me, I’ve got no girlfriend or special someone at the moment. And being of high moral character—if I do say so myself—I would certainly have told you, without you having to ask, if I did.

So if you’re up for writing me some sexy letters (and hell yeah, the hotter the better!) I’m more than okay with reading them. For sure I like the entertainment you’re offering a helluva lot more than any entertainment I could have gotten from a classroom of third-graders.

Now, about me. My bio probably told you I’m a twenty-three-year-old Southie from Beantown. (Translation: From South Boston.) My family owns and runs an Irish pub there, McRoy’s. My mom, dad, and three brothers all live above it. I’m the oldest. Been working at that bar for as long as I can remember. Couldn’t wait to get the hell out. As soon as I graduated high school I went straight into the army.

I’m six weeks into a twelve-month combat deployment, and I can tell I’ll be seeing a lot more fighting this time around. I’ve already decided this tour of duty will be my last. I only hope I survive it.

On a happier note... what I’m looking for in a pen pal? Someone to take my mind off all the shit happening here—and so far you’re doing a bang-up job. Tell me about your day. Share the story of why you and your brother are only six months apart. Tell me about your childhood, your teen years, and your dreams for the future. Tell me about the loser who needed stitches. Talk dirty to me. I think we’re pretty evenly matched in the pen pal department. I just happen to be an up-for-anything kind of guy. I don’t shock easily. So give me all you got. I can handle it. Care packages? I’m happy to get whatever you want to send.

Favorite food: My dad’s corned beef and cabbage. Favorite non-alcoholic beverage: Lemon-lime sports drinks. Favorite alcoholic beverage: Guinness Draught. Favorite color: At this point anything that isn’t tan or green. New favorite treat: Peanut brittle. Favorite part of the female anatomy: (I’m laughing because you have no idea how long I’ve been sitting here trying to decide.) A butt that looks like the one in the picture you sent is certainly high on my list. Especially if it tops off a nice set of toned legs, which I bet you have since you’re a gymnast/dancer. But for some reason I am really attracted to a woman’s feet. Not in a toe-sucking, fetish kind of way. But if a woman takes care of her feet, she probably takes good care of the rest of her. I like small, feminine feet with painted toenails. Part of the reason I love summer so much is for the opportunity to see women’s feet in pretty sandals.

Okay. I sound like a creeper. But I’m not. Really.

In my downtime I like to work with my hands, building things or repairing stuff. I run when the mood hits, which it doesn’t often. But I think chasing after you might be fun. See, something nice to think about for a change.

Well, I gotta go. Time for lunch, then some training stuff. Send out your letters as often as you like. Please don’t wait to hear back from me. Sometimes things get crazy, but I’ll do my best to stay in touch. It’ll help if you’d include your email address in your next letter.

Rory


Interview: 

Today, we welcome Wendy S. Marcus to Musings and Ramblings. Let's all give a big Geeky welcome!

Hi Everyone! *waving from New York* I’m so happy to be there today!

Let's start with some writer specific questions before moving into the fun stuff. That way everyone can really get to know the person behind the writer. We will finish things off with a round of Think Fast. Ready for the interrogation to begin?

Bring it on!

 

Writing Specific

Is your writing style more plotter or pantser?
I am a pantser. I usually start a story with a vague idea of what I want to happen. I let the characters determine how the story will proceed. Although a lot of times, when I reach the murky middle of a manuscript, I start to wish I was a plotter who had already figured out what comes next!!!

When is your favorite time/place to write? Do you write structured or patch worked?
In the nice weather, I love to write outside on my screened-in-porch. Now that my children are out of the house, I’ve started writing in a comfy chair in my family room during the day. Or there’s always my desktop, which is where I am now. As far as a favorite time to write, I’ll write whenever inspiration hits! I can be found at my computer anywhere from very early in the morning to very late at night. I typically write my scenes in order. But every now and then a scene will pop into my head and consume my thoughts to the point I can’t work on anything else until I get it into the computer. (Those are usually really great scenes!)

How involved are you with Social Media and self-promotion?
I am too involved with social media! I love Facebook and Twitter! I try not to overdo the self-promotion (unless I have a book coming out). But I always make it a point to promote other authors, bloggers, and readers as well.

What do you like to do when you are not writing?
I read! When I’m writing I don’t do much reading because reading pulls me out of my story. And because I’m the kind of reader who, if a story grabs me, will put off everything else I need to do in order to finish it. That creates a problem when I’m on deadline! So when I’m not writing I am a voracious reader.

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment?
I find the toughest criticisms are those that seem to go after me as an author rather than sticking to what the reader didn’t like about the story.

In my opinion, the best compliment an author can receive is when a reader says a book kept them up and reading until the early morning hours. I love it when readers tell me that!

 

Fun Stuff

What was the last movie/concert/show that you saw?
No Escape. It’s not my typical kind of movie, but I wanted to go out with my husband and son, and I like Owen Wilson and was interested to see him in a leading role in an action movie. (He was wonderful, by the way!)

If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?
I didn’t have to give this one much thought at all! If I could have any superpower, I’d want the ability to shoot laser beams from my eyes. You know, to quickly fry bad drivers and inconsiderate people. If only…

What was the name of the last book you read?
The last book I read was Ryker by Sawyer Bennett. LOVE her books!!

Tell us 2 positive and 2 negative character traits you possess.
On the positive side I am very loyal and hardworking. On the negative side I have a short temper and I’m a perfectionist.

What would we find in your refrigerator right now?
Thawed chicken breast, Mikes Harder Lemonade (my summer drink of choice unless there are margaritas available.) Promise Lite. Cranberry Pomegranate juice. Assorted salad dressings (that I don’t put to use often enough.) A bag of rotting lettuce. (Glad you made me check!) Activia Strawberry yogurt. Green apples. Eggs. And some other boring stuff.

 

Think Fast

Mountains or Sea? Sea (I LOVE the ocean!)
Italian or Chinese? Italian
Summer or Winter? Summer
Coffee or Tea? My winter drink of choice is decaf coffee with a shot of Baileys. (Only good thing about winter!)
Cake or Pie? Chocolate cake

Thanks for coming by and spending some time with us. Any final words of wisdom to pass along?

Thank you so much for having me here today (and for getting me to check my fridge!) I’m really excited about All I Need Is You and I appreciate you giving me the opportunity to share the blurb with your friends.

Giveaway: 

 


Author Bio:

Wendy S. Marcus is an award-winning author of contemporary romance. A nurse by trade, Wendy holds a Master of Science in Health Care Administration, a degree that does her absolutely no good as she now spends her days, nights, and weekends mucking around in her characters’ lives creating conflict, emotion, and, of course, a happily ever after. Wendy lives in the beautiful Hudson Valley region of New York. When she’s not writing, she enjoys spending time with her family, which includes her dog Buddy, and blogging/ emailing/ tweeting/ facebooking with her online friends.

To connect with the author online:

Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads


Source: http://www.musingsandramblings.net/2015/09/interview-all-i-need-is-you-wendy-marcus.html